About the ICC Task Force

Advisory Group Members

John B. Bellinger III, Partner at Arnold & Porter LLP, former State Department Legal Adviser (2005 to 2009) and National Security Council Legal Adviser (2001 to 2005).

Elizabeth Evenson, Associate Director of the International Justice Program, Human Rights Watch.

Charles C. Jalloh, Professor of Law at Florida International University, member of the UN International Law Commission, founder of the Center for International Law and Policy in Africa, former international criminal law practitioner at the ICTR, SCSL, Canadian Department of Justice and visiting professional at the ICC.

Tod Lindberg, Senior Fellow at the Hudson Institute.

Elisa Massimino, Robert F. Drinan, S.J., Chair in Human Rights at Georgetown University Law Center, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, and former President and CEO of Human Rights First.

Stephen Rapp, Senior Fellow at USHMM's Center for Prevention of Genocide and Oxford University’s Blavatnik School of Government, former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues (2009 to 2015), Senior Trial Attorney and Chief of Prosecutions at the ICTR (2005 to 2007) and Chief Prosecutor at the SCSL (2007 to 2009).

Natalie Reid, Partner at Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, former Associate Legal Officer at the ICTY.

David Scheffer, Clinical Professor Emeritus at Northwestern Pritzker School of Law, former U.S. Ambassador at Large for War Crimes Issues (1997 to 2001) and head of U.S. delegation to negotiations of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court.

Jane Stromseth, Francis Cabell Brown Professor of International Law at Georgetown University Law Center, former Deputy to the U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Global Criminal Justice (2013 to 2015) and acting head of the Office of Global Criminal Justice (2015).

William H. Taft IV, former State Department Legal Adviser (2001 to 2005) and former U.S. Ambassador to NATO (1989 to 1992).

Clint Williamson, Senior Director for International Rule of Law and National Security at the McCain Institute for International Leadership and Distinguished Professor of Practice at the Arizona State University College of Law, former Lead Prosecutor for the European Union Special Investigative Task Force (2011 to 2014), and U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues (2006 to 2009).

In the initial stages of the Task Force’s work, it also benefited from the participation of Ashley Deeks (then Professor of Law at University of Virginia School of Law and former State Department assistant legal adviser for political-military affairs), Harold Hongju Koh (Sterling Professor of International Law at Yale Law School and former State Department Legal Adviser, 2009 to 2013) and William K. Lietzau (former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Rule of Law and Detainee Policy) in its Advisory Group, prior to their reappointment to government posts.

The Report and its Recommendations do not necessarily reflect the views of the Advisory Group members.